The Unnamed

I see you cross the room

To me, I think, gasping in the breath,

Hold it now, not noticing, will-less

The sharp uprise of light-headed joy,

Now plunged into dark when you pass

And clutch the arms of another, one, I think

Instantly, unworthy.  How callow is love’s disappointment!

I stand, baffled.  It must be sheer luck,

He surely has no more than I, less, less, of course!

How can you put it off, this passion for me,

And pass it to one who cannot know you,

Not as I do, cannot see your soul, taste your heart?

Beloved, I sometimes become quite despairing,

I confess it, even as you continue to play.  Someday,

We shall spend bright evenings abed discussing  it,

Debating with many a laugh and many a sigh

This long separation we have endured so heroically,

Once we have submitted  to our true destiny.

Now, you arise.  Now, you leave, graceful as a swan in flight,

And I cross the sultry room

To ask who you were.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://borderer.wordpress.com/2012/11/29/the-unnamed/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

