Kraft durch Freude

Sometimes I feel like a Bentley.

Mostly, I act the Volkswagen.

Nothing wrong with German cars,

(Strength through Joy,

The one motto the Nazis got right…)

But when I am a Bentley,

I am too dignified for laughter,

A muffled “haw…haw” is all I manage,

So I will choose a Beetle for the charm of it.

 

The world is full of oriental cars, now.

Strength, but no joy.

I cannot get excited about Toyotas,

Hyundais and Hondas leave me cold;

Miatas are great cars,

But there is no soul like a Jag’s,

No flash and dash like an Aston Martin,

A Mercedes, Bimmer, even an Austin Healey.

Pride!…and joy!!!!!

 

So, when you, in midnight journey pass

Me, awaiting tow-trucks on the grass;

As you go colourlessly on,

Raise an imaginary glass!

Published in: on November 29, 2012 at 1:04 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://borderer.wordpress.com/2012/11/29/kraft-durch-freude/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

