The Lord’s Day

Three young Sunday girls,

in their black tights,

with their equally tight

and splendid bottoms

sit near me.

One stands,

the aforementioned splendour

almost in my face.

(It is the Lord’s Day,

and all that is holy

is realized.

Praise be!)

I came in this morning

a long-time agnostic,

or chicken atheist,

what you will,

yet here,

displayed before me

the surest evidence

of divine grace,

the final argument,

the unassailable logic,

hidden,

as all mysteries must be.

What heights would I strive for!

What agonies endure!

In true and happy hope

of an unveiling!

When I looked again,

they had gone,

and I sat,

illuminated,

dazed with the memory,

and wielding

an inadequate pen.

Forgive me.

Published in: on September 2, 2012 at 5:01 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://borderer.wordpress.com/2012/09/02/the-lords-day/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. 😀


Leave a Reply

