Little Kids

Little kids,

really little kids,

like, toddlerish kids

always see too much.

I’ll be just sitting,

and some honey cruises in

with her living doll

(what she always wanted

a live doll!)

and she, the mom

has huge eyes,

and a nice walk.

And the kid looks at me,

screws up its mouth,

and starts sniffling,

and I know it is saying

“keep your distance, dude,

she’s mine

for now.”

Or some guy comes in

goo-ing over his rugrat,

and they are so sweet

my teeth ache,

and the r.-r. looks at me

with more studiousness,

than I have ever managed,

then smiles,

hugely,

victoriously,

with that

“you’ll be decrepit

before I’m old enough!”

look.

Published in: on September 1, 2012 at 4:21 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://borderer.wordpress.com/2012/09/01/little-kids/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

